John Greene Chandler Memorial
View Full Image
This building was originally in the complex of the Lancaster engraving and printing firm of Carter and Andrews. In 1965, Herbert Hosmer moved it to a spot in back of his George Hill Road home, where it served as a museum for his antique children's books, dollhouses, and cut-out toys. To suit his purposes, he created a unique structure incorporating some details from other Lancaster houses. John Greene Chandler (1815-1879), for whom the museum was named, was a wood engraver and lithographer who created items for children. The building is still on the site, but the museum no longer operates. Title from item or accompanying materials. Date supplied by cataloger. John Charles Schumacher-Hardy ; photograph by Paul L'Ecuyer Published in: Images of America, Lancaster revisited / Heather Maurer Lennon. Charleston, SC ; Chicago IL ; Portsmouth NH ; San Francisco CA. : Arcadia Publishing, 2005
|Lancaster Historical Society|
John Greene Chandler Memorial, Inc
Rights status not evaluated. You may contact host institution for more information. This work is licensed for use under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial No Derivatives License (CC BY-NC-ND).